Xcaret Receives 2018 Liseberg Applause Award

Biannually, since 1980, the prestigious Applause Award honors a park whose management, operations and creative accomplishments have inspired the industry with foresight, originality and sound business development.

The winner of the 2018 Applause Award is Xcaret, Mexico.

“With an original and creative vision, Xcaret has created one of the most unique and authentic park destinations in the world. The park is balancing world class experiences, based on native culture and natural attractions, with sustainable operations and a strong commitment to the local community.” says Andreas Veilstrup Andersen, President and CEO, Liseberg Group and Chairman of The Applause Award Board of Governors.

The Applause Award was presented at the opening ceremony of IAAPA Attractions Expo 2018 in Orlando, Florida. With the award, Xcaret joins the ranks among the absolute best amusement and theme parks in the world.

Previous winners of The Applause Award:

1980 Magic Kingdom, Walt Disney World, USA

1982 Opryland, USA

1986 Epcot Center, USA

1988 Knott´s Berry Farm, USA

1990 EuropaPark, Germany

1992 Efteling, the Netherlands

1994 Universal Studios, Florida, USA

1996 Cedar Point, USA

1998 Silver Dollar City, USA

2000 Hershey Park, USA

2002 Busch Gardens, Williamsburg, USA

2004 Holiday World & Splashing Safari, USA

2006 Universal´s Islands of Adventure, USA

2008 Xetulul, Guatemala

2010 Dollywood, USA

2012 Ocean Park, Hong Kong

2014 Puy du Fou, France

2016 Busch Gardens Tampa, USA

For the latest on theme parks, attractions and more across the region, be sure to follow Touring Central Florida on twitter @TourCentralFL@androckb@Emmet_TCF, @JacobTouringCe1, and give our facebook page a like.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *